Blog

Eco-Uga Pads: Youth-led Innovation Making a Difference in Menstrual Hygiene

By Everlyne Nabakka (ecougapad@gmail.com) My name is Everlyne Nabakka. I am 23 years old and was born and raised in Uganda. l am the founder of Eco-Uga Pads, a social business in the process of piloting a reusable, biodegradable sanitary pad made out of banana stems. This is my story. Growing up in the rural […]

Read More

How might we: build young water professional leaders through volunteering?

How might we: build young water professional leaders through volunteering? Exploring how to foster inclusion through volunteering at conferences By Kimberly McLeod, Natacha Klein, and Diana Yitbarek  from World Water Women sourced from www.worldclouds.com   Introduction  Imagine you are attending a conference and at your fingertips have access to a unique concentration of individuals in your […]

Read More

Creating space for human to human connections – An experiential Blog

by Anna Goubert (a.goubert@wateryouthnetwork.org), Rozemarijn ter Horst (r.terhorst@wateryouthnetwork.org), Natalija Vojno (n.vojno@wateryouthnetwork.org), Tim Nolden (t.nolden@wateryouthnetwork.org) & Maitreyi Koduganti (m.koduganti@wateryouthnetwork.org) The attention on the many roles young people can play in water cooperation is growing. Also during the Stockholm World Water Week, water, peace, cooperation and young people were on the agenda. Also, many organisations experience it as […]

Read More

Consultative Meeting on Addressing Post 2030 Water Security and Safety Challenges in Higher Education in Africa

by Lako Stephane (l.stephane@wateryouthnetwork.org) Progress on meeting SDG 6 on Water and Sanitation is key to achieving success across a suite of SDGs related to climate, health, food security, gender equality, sustainable cities, and conservation of marine and terrestrial ecosystems. The complexities inherent in sustainability require future decision-makers to have critical thinking skills, experience with […]

Read More

Next steps in the OECD Water Governance Initiative – a review of the 12th Meeting of the OECD WGI in Berlin, Germany

Next steps in the OECD Water Governance Initiative – a review of the 12th Meeting of the OECD WGI in Berlin, Germany Reflections on the OECD WGI international multi-stakeholder meeting held 20-21 June 2019 in Berlin for exchanging knowledge on water governance best practices as they relate to sustainability, flood management, corruption and capacity development. […]

Read More

Hack the Risk! Smart Solutions on Water Issues and Floods

Hack the Risk! Smart Solutions on Water Issues and Floods Water Youth Network representatives explore innovative solutions to Disaster Risk Reduction and the creative input of youth in risk management at the Hack the Risk! hackathon held in Colombia from 5-7 April, 2019. By: Camilo Fernandez (c.fernandez@wateryouthnetwork.org), Nhilce Esquivel (n.esquivel@wateryouthnetwork.org) & Miguel Trejo (m.trejo@wateryouthnetwork.org)   It […]

Read More

WYN members’ leadership at SWWW19

The Water Youth Network is made up of enthusiastic, hardworking, talented young professionals and students, a group who enjoy learning and jumping on opportunities to represent youth in the water sector. This has earned us many exciting positions and our members will be very involved during the Stockholm World Water Week 2019 (SWWW19). One of […]

Read More

Toolkit developed by Winners of GWP-WMO Competition on Youth-led projects

Preparing Our Home: Lessons from Lil’wat Nation, British Columbia Canada By Lilia Yumagulova and Casey Gabriel “Preparing our Home” is a community-based program that enables Indigenous youth to reach their potential in becoming resilience leaders in their communities. Experiences and research around the world show that youth programs can help build, sustain, and improve community […]

Read More

Side events at SWWW19!

Whether you are a young professional or experienced senior, we’d love to connect with you during the Stockholm World Water Week 2019. Therefore, the WYN is organizing three side events during the week. Come see us and network!     2nd Intergenerational Coffee Club Monday, 8-9:00 The WYN is repeating last year’s success and organizing an […]

Read More

The 2nd Multi-Hazard Early Warning Conference (MHEWC-II) & GPDRR 2019 : The participation of two young professionals from West Africa (13-17 May, 2019 Geneva, Switzerland)

By: Rollis Jiofack (r.jiofack@wateryouthnetwork.org)  In May 2019, the city of Geneva in Switzerland hosted two major events in the context of disaster risk reduction. On the one hand, the 2nd Multi-hazard Early Warning Conference (MHEWC-II), which took place from May 13 to 14, at WMO headquarters and the Global Platform for Disaster Risk Reduction (GPDRR […]

Read More

Subscribe to our mailing list!!!

* indicates required