Blog

Water earns top spot at Asia Pacific Urban Forum 7

By Vincy Abraham (v.abraham@wateryouthnetwork.org) The Asia Pacific Urban Forum is a regional event organized by the UN Economic & Social Council for Asia & Pacific (UNESCAP) and the UN Human Settlements Program (UN-Habitat) every 4 years. The 7th edition of APUF took place between 15th-17th October 2019 in Penang, Malaysia hosted by the Government of […]

Read More

Korea World Water Week – The Road to World Water Forum 9

By Karishma Asoodani (karishma.asoodani@yahoo.com) Korea World Water Week (KIWW) is an annual event that gathers water enthusiasts and stakeholders across the globe to fulfill its respective objective of conserving water. KIWW 2019 was an initiative to address its underlying theme, Sustainable Water Management for Humans and Nature, and to derive an action plan for World […]

Read More

Eco-Uga Pads: Youth-led Innovation Making a Difference in Menstrual Hygiene

By Everlyne Nabakka (ecougapad@gmail.com) My name is Everlyne Nabakka. I am 23 years old and was born and raised in Uganda. l am the founder of Eco-Uga Pads, a social business in the process of piloting a reusable, biodegradable sanitary pad made out of banana stems. This is my story. Growing up in the rural […]

Read More

How might we: build young water professional leaders through volunteering?

How might we: build young water professional leaders through volunteering? Exploring how to foster inclusion through volunteering at conferences By Kimberly McLeod, Natacha Klein, and Diana Yitbarek  from World Water Women sourced from www.worldclouds.com   Introduction  Imagine you are attending a conference and at your fingertips have access to a unique concentration of individuals in your […]

Read More

Creating space for human to human connections – An experiential Blog

by Anna Goubert (a.goubert@wateryouthnetwork.org), Rozemarijn ter Horst (r.terhorst@wateryouthnetwork.org), Natalija Vojno (n.vojno@wateryouthnetwork.org), Tim Nolden (t.nolden@wateryouthnetwork.org) & Maitreyi Koduganti (m.koduganti@wateryouthnetwork.org) The attention on the many roles young people can play in water cooperation is growing. Also during the Stockholm World Water Week, water, peace, cooperation and young people were on the agenda. Also, many organisations experience it as […]

Read More

Consultative Meeting on Addressing Post 2030 Water Security and Safety Challenges in Higher Education in Africa

by Lako Stephane (l.stephane@wateryouthnetwork.org) Progress on meeting SDG 6 on Water and Sanitation is key to achieving success across a suite of SDGs related to climate, health, food security, gender equality, sustainable cities, and conservation of marine and terrestrial ecosystems. The complexities inherent in sustainability require future decision-makers to have critical thinking skills, experience with […]

Read More

Next steps in the OECD Water Governance Initiative – a review of the 12th Meeting of the OECD WGI in Berlin, Germany

Next steps in the OECD Water Governance Initiative – a review of the 12th Meeting of the OECD WGI in Berlin, Germany Reflections on the OECD WGI international multi-stakeholder meeting held 20-21 June 2019 in Berlin for exchanging knowledge on water governance best practices as they relate to sustainability, flood management, corruption and capacity development. […]

Read More

Hack the Risk! Smart Solutions on Water Issues and Floods

Hack the Risk! Smart Solutions on Water Issues and Floods Water Youth Network representatives explore innovative solutions to Disaster Risk Reduction and the creative input of youth in risk management at the Hack the Risk! hackathon held in Colombia from 5-7 April, 2019. By: Camilo Fernandez (c.fernandez@wateryouthnetwork.org), Nhilce Esquivel (n.esquivel@wateryouthnetwork.org) & Miguel Trejo (m.trejo@wateryouthnetwork.org)   It […]

Read More

WYN members’ leadership at SWWW19

The Water Youth Network is made up of enthusiastic, hardworking, talented young professionals and students, a group who enjoy learning and jumping on opportunities to represent youth in the water sector. This has earned us many exciting positions and our members will be very involved during the Stockholm World Water Week 2019 (SWWW19). One of […]

Read More

Toolkit developed by Winners of GWP-WMO Competition on Youth-led projects

Preparing Our Home: Lessons from Lil’wat Nation, British Columbia Canada By Lilia Yumagulova and Casey Gabriel “Preparing our Home” is a community-based program that enables Indigenous youth to reach their potential in becoming resilience leaders in their communities. Experiences and research around the world show that youth programs can help build, sustain, and improve community […]

Read More

Subscribe to our mailing list!!!

* indicates required